Meet Our Team

Pastor Wayne Kent


Wayne and Leslie 2015 (for web)

LEAD PASTOR

Wayne has been the lead pastor of First Christian Church since January 1994. He has seen the church evolve from a small congregation with big dreams to a thriving ministry with a passion to share the Gospel in our community and around the world. He also is the host of DirectLine on WSOY 1340AM which is on the air every Wednesday from 5-7pm.

Born in Katoomba, Australia, Wayne moved to Vancouver, BC with his family at a young age. He and his wife, Leslie, met while attending Oral Roberts University where he got a degree in business administration. Wayne also has his Master of Divinity from Phillips Graduate Seminary in Tulsa and obtained his Doctor of Ministry from Gordon Conwell Theological Seminary in Boston. He and Leslie have two children, Jacqueline (Eric) and Ben (Courtney), and four grandchildren.

Pastoral Team


Wayne Kent
WAYNE KENT

Lead Pastor
wayne@firstdecatur.org

Brian Talty
BRIAN TALTY

Associate Pastor
btalty@firstdecatur.org

BJ Leonard
BJ LEONARD

Missions Pastor
bleonard@firstdecatur.org

Jonathan Grunden
JONATHAN GRUNDEN

Discipleship Pastor
jgrunden@firstdecatur.org

TIM REVIS

Care Ministries Pastor
trevis@firstdecatur.org

Robert Henderson
ROBERT HENDERSON

Pastor of Community Care
rhenderson@firstdecatur.org

Thomas Hagan 3
THOMAS HAGAN

Young Adult Pastor
thagan@firstdecatur.org

Heather Vance
HEATHER VANCE

Family Ministries Pastor
hvance@firstdecatur.org

Families@First


Heather Vance
HEATHER VANCE

Family Ministries Pastor
hvance@firstdecatur.org

Nic Mayberry
NIC MAYBERRY

High School Director
nmayberry@firstdecatur.org

Janie Kane 2017
JANIE KANE

Elementary Director
jkane@firstdecatur.org

WENDY DEMENT 2
WENDY DEMENT

Elementary Asst. Director
wdement@firstdecatur.org

Brandy Ray 2017
BRANDY RAY

Pre-K Director
bray@firstdecatur.org

Melissa Petersen
MELISSA PETERSEN

Pre-K Asst. Director
mpetersen
@firstdecatur.org

Outreach


Lori Putnam 2
LORI PUTNAM

Dir. of Ministry Development
lputnam@firstdecatur.org

Morgan Arseneau
MORGAN ARSENEAU

Discipleship Assistant
marseneau@firstdecatur.org

HANNAH BEERY
HANNAH BEERY

Hospitality
hbeery@firstdecatur.org

ANDREA GRUNDEN
ANDREA GRUNDEN

Arts Academy
agrunden@firstdecatur.org

Carol Smith
CAROL SMITH

Parish Nurse
csmith@firstdecatur.org

Lisa Weatherford
LISA WEATHERFORD

Mosaic Café
lweatherford@firstdecatur.org

ABBEY LUKA
ABBEY LUKA

Mosaic Café

LAUREN ARTIME
LAUREN ARTIME

Mosaic Café

PEYTON JACKSON
Peyton Jackson

Mosaic Café

Rick Grace
DR. RICK GRACE

DHF Church Liaison
rgrace@discipleheritage.org

Don Dotson
DON DOTSON

Chaplain
ddotson@firstdecatur.org

Missing Photo - Female
DEE FRANZ

Chaplain
dfranz@firstdecatur.org

Susan Liu
SUSAN LIU

Chaplain
sliu@firstdecatur.org

Dee Pulliam
DEE PULLIAM

Chaplain
dpulliam@firstdecatur.org

Jeffrey Ruffin
JEFFREY RUFFIN

Chaplain
jruffin@firstdecatur.org

Chris Vieth
CHRIS VIETH

Chaplain
cveith@firstdecatur.org

Creative


Fred Saurmann
FRED SAURMANN

Production Manager
fsaurmann@firstdecatur.org

Lacey Phillips
LACEY PHILLIPS

Worship Arts Director
lphillips@firstdecatur.org

Bill Cunningham 2
Bill Cunningham

Music Director
bcunningham@firstdecatur.org

STEPHANIE CAMPBELL
Stephanie Campbell

Choir Director
scampbell@firstdecatur.org

Crystal Kirkman
CRYSTAL KIRKMAN

Communications Director
ckirkman@firstdecatur.org

Jeremy Shull
JEREMY SHULL

Video Production
jshull@firstdecatur.org

Matthew DeMent
Matthew DeMent

Production
mdement@firstdecatur.org

 

JOSH LIU 2
Josh Liu

Production
jliu@firstdecatur.org

 

Administration & Support


Dan Steffeny
DAN STEFFENY

Director of Operations
dsteffeny@firstdecatur.org

Peggy Anderson
PEGGY ANDERSON

Office Manager
panderson@firstdecatur.org

Robyn Evans
ROBYN EVANS

Secretary
revans@firstdecatur.org

Leanne Kuhn
LEANNE KUHN

Office
lkuhn@firstdecatur.org

Dawn Wendt
DAWN WENDT

Office
dwendt@firstdecatur.org

Tom Howard
TOM HOWARD

Maintenance
thoward@firstdecatur.org

Dennis Sheppard
Dennis Sheppard

Weekend Support Staff

Ken Suhr 2
Ken Suhr

Weekend Support Staff

BARB WOOD
BARB WOOD

Weekend Support Staff

GARY WOOD 2
GARY WOOD

Weekend Support Staff

Elders


Jared Collier

Ann Eaton

Nolan Gillett

Bradley Grant

Wayne Kent

Rick McKibben

Kathy Mueller

Russ Reimer

Mark Reynolds

Carroll Ringelestein

Administrative Team


Russ Reimer  /  CHAIR

Todd Banning  /  VICE CHAIR

Jared Collier  /  ELDER CHAIR

Sally Hodges  /  SECRETARY

Michelle Reynolds / TREASURER

David Little

Wayne Kent

Tom Pistorius

Tracy Smithers

Dan Steffeny

Brian Talty

Trustees


Gordon Gregory

Shane Mendenhall

David Zelhart